Paper Dreams

Nothing is written in stone anymore.  I mean, Moses wrote the commandments on stone tablets and great artists have carved sculpture throughout history from solid rock but in this day and age forget the pen being mightier than the sword; the computer is mightier than both when it comes to making sense of the world.  The answer is just a click away! Except I don’t want to keep clicking through life. I want to experience it and come out from this whole experience with something more.  A ‘more-ness’ that means that solid rock has been used to secure foundations and make steady, rather than hitting my head against it!  In my bid to do this I harnessed a little creativity,  resisted letting my ideas turn to stone or leave my head in the ‘i-cloud’ I decided to go back to tried and tested resources that have seen me though many a challenge in life before now and seen me through quite a few periods of ‘lock-down’ moments:  Pencils, paper and scissors!  Give me these resources and I am like a kid again…indulging my inner child …forgetting the world for a moment and able to imagine other possibilities and realities.  So come on the journey with me…

Making a plane one fold at a time

DAY ONE

Paper planes

No one made the perfect plane without crafting lots of rubbish ones first.  I always used to marvel at the kid who could create a seemingly perfect flight of fancy! I dismissed the fact that this kid had obviously had some guidance on ‘How to’ do it, had access to the right resources and had a lot of trial and error before they let their ideas take flight!  My folds of paper would often end up with me frustratingly screwing everything up into a ball!  And while that could become a good game with throwing the ball of paper into the bin…it wasn’t what had been intended for that piece of paper.  It was designed to fly much higher and go much further.  However, only time and space to think through the steps and go through them until they were second nature were going to get me the result I so eagerly aimed for.  But while I sat looking at the paper I knew that I wanted to see it fly…and the only way to for that was to take things one fold at a time!  So now is the time to take one step at a time and one day at a time.

What’s more, the only way to know if the paper plane would fly was to let it go and not let the fear of failure weigh down the blessing of that moment. So get ready to ‘let go and let God’; rely on His strength and (in the immortal words of that famous song!) let Him be the wind beneath your wings!

Isaiah  40v31

But they that wait upon the Lord will renew their strength.

They shall soar with wings as eagles.

They shall run and not grow weary.

They shall walk and not faint.

Just a piece of paper? Or designed for more?

Leave a comment